Scientific Board for Physical Sciences

A Scientific Board is formed for any Scientific Area of the University of Pisa, by representatives of professors belonging to the field. This Board supports the Academic Senate with suggestions about research funding.  The Scientific Board for Physical Sciences at the University of Pisa is currently composed by: 

Full Professors
Associate Professors 

Committee for the enhancement of outreach and technology transfer

VQR Board for the Department of Physics

Joint Professors-Students Committee (‘Paritetica’)

  • Filippo Antola 
  • Lorenzo Benfatto 
  • Blanca Bruschi 
  • Leonardo Ciurli 
  • Giulio Cordova 
  • Margherita Sagina 

Committee for Quality-Teaching

BS Degree in Physics
MS Degree in Physics 

Committee for Quality-Research and Outreach (Third Mission)

Departmental coordinators 


Professors at the Department of Physics are grouped in Scientific Teams or Disciplinary Areas, depending on their main research interests: 

  • Experimental Physics of Fundamental Interactions  
  • Physics of Matter 
  • Theoretical Physics and History of Physics 
  • Astronomy and Astrophysics 
  • Applied Physics 

Each Disciplinary Area has its own spokesperson, attending meetings for the yearly didactic programming: 

  • Spokesperson for the ‘Experimental Physics of Fundamental Interactions‘ Disciplinary Area: Prof. Francesco Forti (until Feb 2024) 
  • Spokesperson for the ‘Physics of Matter‘ Disciplinary Area: Prof. Alessandro Tredicucci (until Feb 2024) 
  • Spokesperson for the ‘Theoretical Physics and History of Physics‘ Disciplinary Area: Prof. Davide Rossini (until Nov 2024) 
  • Spokesperson for the ‘Astronomy and Astrophysics‘ Disciplinary Area: Prof. Scilla Degl’Innocenti (until Feb 2024) 
  • Spokesperson for the ‘Applied Physics‘ Disciplinary Area: Prof. Valeria Rosso (until Feb 2024) 
Back to top